Money makes the world go round?

Published July 19, 2012 by goingalongwithit

I said in my earlier post that I’m getting stressed about my upcoming results. But that does not mean that I am under some illusion that my world is crumbling to pieces around me. I have problems from time to time yes, but I work through them and I get over them. Some people clearly do not afford themselves the same luxury. I notice on my twitter, facebook and tumblr that people of similar ages to me are acting as if they have the whole weight of the world upon their shoulders, and I’m finding it hard to understand how someone at this stage of their life – apart from those in more uncommon circumstances – can spend most of their day bitching and moaning about trivial things like not having enough clothes or thinking that one of their friends has been bitching about them with another. I just wish these people would sit back and think about how they come across when they do this. But maybe even if they don’t care what other people think of them – which might I add, I don’t really care about, but I do care about what I am about to say – maybe they should think about those who are less fortunate than us. We are lucky enough to have been born into a life with very little stress at all, we don’t have to walk days or hours on end just for food or water, we walk to the fridge. We don’t have to watch our families die from starvation or poor healthcare, we make a doctors appointment. Actually, even if we didn’t have a home, or any food, at least we are in a position to steal it. Who are those in third world countries expected to steal from? Because believe me, anyone would rather steal food than starve to death. But seriously, nothing pisses me off more than people who have since birth been given everything they ever asked for at the drop of a hat who don’t appreciate it. Don’t get me wrong I’ve had a great life so far, I wanted for nothing growing up but that doesn’t mean that I’m not appreciative of the hard work my parents put into bringing me and my sisters up. I know people who for example, have their driving lessons paid for, test paid for, BRAND NEW car paid for, insurance – which these days is not at all cheap – and then they show how little they appreciate this by going and crashing the car! I can admit though that sometimes this is through no fault of their own, because their parents reinforce this behavior by then buying them ANOTHER brand new car. It’s a vicious circle really. I have no problem with people who have money, fair enough if you have it you’re going to spend it, but its those who don’t understand or appreciate the value of money that get on my last nerve.

The world is full of selfish and materialistic people. Sometimes I just wish people would take a step back and think, there is always gonna be someone worse off than me, so maybe for once I should quit my bitching, whining and moaning and be thankful for what I have, however little that may seem to me at this moment in time. I’m not immune to this, at times I find myself shouting the odds at the world over something so small and meaningless. But then I somehow manage to usually take a step back and think about how lucky I am. 

But I guess that as they say money really does make the world go round. And as long as that is true there will always be people who have it, and those who don’t. Which brings with it people who appreciate it, people who yearn for it and people who downright abuse it. All of which are in a different class to those who really need it. 

Wow. I just got deep for a moment there .. how about that?

 

Leave a Reply

