Bloggers Anxiety

Published July 26, 2012 by goingalongwithit

My laptop has been turned on for most of the day. I’ve had Word Press open for the same length of time, and along with it, the ‘New Post’ box. I started typing, and then deleted what I had wrote, then I did the same again, and again. This went on for quite some time. So I opened up a new tab, and decided instead to find some new blogs to follow in the hope that I would find some inspiration somewhere, anywhere. I didn’t. I did however, find what I believe is going to be my favorite blog to read, so far at least. You can visit it here: http://suburbiainterrupted.com/

Part of me wishes however, that I hadn’t gone in search of new reads. I have realized how little I have to write about on my own blog. And with it, how unfunny I am. Is it possible that you can perhaps not be funny enough to write a blog? Or at least to write one anyone would be interested in reading! That sounds pretty defeatist, I know. But I’m still not going to stop writing my blog. So far I have attracted many more views and followers than I thought I would. And considering my blog is days old I can’t be doing to bad. I kinda feel like Anne Frank at the beginning of her diary here. Whinging about how she didn’t think that anyone would be remotely interested in the musings of a 13 year old girl (correct me if I am wrong on the age, it’s been quite some years since I last read it), even though the age is well off. I can’t think of any reason that a complete stranger would wish to come to my blog daily – or however often I post – to see what I’ve been up to or what it is that I want to talk about today. But in the same moment, I think … well surely it’s the same thing that motivates me to seek out other blogs to follow and to take an interest in? There is a reason I liked Suburbiainterrupted’s blog, and every other blog I’ve followed. I couldn’t pin point the reason, but that isn’t what I’m getting at. I find it interesting that, even though I take an active interest in other peoples lives on here – even just the everyday things like what they did with the kids today, the book they’re currently reading or something along those lines – I cannot grasp the concept of someone wanting to take the same interest in mine. That is not to say however, that I am not appreciative and deeply thankful of anyone who does.

Maybe it’s just the lack of inspiration making me anxious about blogging. I’m sure I’ll be fine once I find my feet. Perhaps somehow, I’ll develop the ability to be as equally satirical and witty as those posting on the blogs I follow. And maybe it’s blogging that made these people funny in the first place. The knowledge that someone, somewhere is going to read this, and from it decide whether or not they want to come back again could have developed their humor. I hope so, and I hope this happens to me. I’m not saying I’m a completely unfunny person, I make people laugh a lot, I’m just not sure if I can only do this through speech rather than writing. But, one of the reasons I started this blog was to develop my already not too shabby writing skills.

I suppose we’ll see. But if you do find yourself on my blog and aren’t impressed right now, just bear with me. I have everything crossed that I will get better at this. That finding things to blog about, and writing about them well, will become second nature to me.

4 comments on “Bloggers Anxiety

  • You will find your blogging voice. It’s just scary to jump in at first. It was scary for months for me and even after a year, it still is. But I write for me, and that’s really the only hit that matters.

  • Leave a Reply

