Something To Look Forward To

Published July 31, 2012 by goingalongwithit

Hey guys. I’m sorry for being away from my blog for a couple of days, I’ve been pretty busy. I’ve had to go to work a lot this week so that’s the main reason to be honest. So let me fill you in on my weekend. 

This Saturday was the wedding of a friend of mine. It was such a lovely day. As strange as this may sound to some people It’s the first wedding I’ve been to since I was around 8 years old, so I guess you could say it was my first ‘proper’ wedding, or at least the first at which I wouldn’t be playing under tables and getting hyper on fizzy drinks instead of alcohol. The bride (my friend) looked completely stunning – saying that, she is a very good looking woman in general so she looks pretty great all the time if I’m totally honest (bitch … joking) – and her fiance, or husband now also scrubbed up pretty well I must say. There was a church ceremony, which was also lovely. The bridesmaids were dressed in simple pink dresses, not something I would choose, but it wasn’t my day. Everyone had fun, I think. Well I did and I know the bride and groom did which is this most important thing. 

I didn’t expect at all how emotional it would make me feel. I didn’t cry. I don’t often cry at all and the times I do are not in public. But I wanted to. I am however, pretty great at holding that in. It was just so great seeing a couple so happy together, so in sync. They’ve been together since they were 15 years old, and are now both 24, so I guess you could call them childhood sweethearts. I wish  them every happiness in the future, from the bottom of my heart. I don’t know if I’ve ever seen two people that happy. I can’t wait to feel like that. I’ve always, until quite recently, been the kind of girl to say that I would never get married. I didn’t grow up planning my wedding day or imagining what the man waiting for me at the end of the isle would look like. It just wasn’t my thing. But as I’ve gotten a little older I’ve realized that one day I do want to get married. I wouldn’t want anything huge or over the top but I do want it to happen one day.

I don’t need to conjure up an ideal of the man I will marry. Because in all honestly I believe I already know who that person is. Perhaps at some point in the future that will change, I hope not, but I am aware that sometime life gets in the way and things just don’t work out the way we expect or want them to. I can wait for my big day, I’m very much looking forward to it, but I can wait for it. I’m looking forward to relishing the journey to the big day too. I’m just looking forward, in general, to spending the rest of my life with this special person. Like I said though, I am aware that this may not pan out the way I want it to. But I won’t adopt a pessimistic outlook, I’ve always been a strict believer in seeing the glass as half full and not half empty.

This man is my best friend. We have a very special connection, one that neither of us needs to put into words, not that I think I could even if I wanted to. Our future is my ‘something to look forward to’. I’m in a very happy place in my life. A feeling that doesn’t always last, but that should at the same time be cherished. Not everybody has good times, but everyone has bad times, and for my good times such as right now I count myself extremely lucky. I hope other people do too. My motto is that there is ALWAYS someone worse off than me. I don’t mean this in a morbid way, just a reminder to myself not to take simple things, or anything for granted. Not everyone has the luxuries I do, or you do. 

Leave a Reply

