10 Years On …

Published August 1, 2012 by goingalongwithit

I was reading Woman Magazine yesterday and as I was turning through the pages, I saw something that made my stomach turn. And not in a good way. It was this photograph:

ImageThe caption read: “10 years on … the photo we’ll never forget”

To those who don’t know who the girls in the photo are, the gorgeous girls are Jessica Chapman (Left) and Holly Wells (Right). This photo was taken at 5:04pm on 4th August 2002, just hours before they were murdered by their school caretaker Ian Huntley. The media coverage of this was huge. If you don’t know the story I urge you to Google it. 

When the story broke, I was 8 years old and in Primary school (not sure what the US equivalent is), but I still remember hearing about it. Firstly, the girls were believed to have gone missing, and sickeningly, the caretaker who had killed them appeared on TV urging anyone to come forward with any information, making out as if he was helping to look for the two girls. The most heart wrenching part of the article is where it tells you that this year, both of the girls – if they were still alive – would be celebrating their 21st birthdays. It is fucking disgusting that they have had this, and the rest of their lives taken away from them. 

I will always believe that murderers are scum. This seems obvious, but some people admire and idolise them. I cannot comprehend this. Something else that I can’t get my head around is that, if these people (murderers, or potential murderers) have the urge to kill someone then why don’t they just kill themselves and have done with it. I understand that sometimes it is about the ritual and some sort of obsession or desire for inflicting pain on other people and not on themselves. But taking someones life must be the most selfish and unwarranted thing a human being can do. I don’t think I’ll ever be able to understand why people do it. Through studying Psychology, I already know the motives behind the killings, but I don’t believe that anyone, who is not of murderous mentality will ever be able to fully grasp the concept. Perhaps even they can’t. 

I was just so shocked to find that it has been 10 years since Holly and Jessica were murdered. For those who are not from the UK, ask anyone who is from here who Holly and Jessica are and they will tell you. It isn’t something that you just don’t know about. 

Things like this just remind me how lucky I am. Not lucky to live in a world where things like this happen, but lucky enough to live at all. But I do hope that the girls spirits and families are at some kind of peace now. 

Leave a Reply

