I Kind Of Care If You Think I’m Weird, But I Also Don’t

Published August 9, 2012 by goingalongwithit

I never thought I was the kind of person to care about what others thought about me. But now and again when I’m writing a tweet or a status update I find myself stopping and deleting what I’ve written and I know that the reason is I just think people will think I’m silly or boring or a whinger for writing it. This is bad. I guess in general I really don’t care what people think of me. But I, along with the remainder of the worlds population, find comfort in acceptance and also in the knowledge that someone likes me. I wish I didn’t second guess myself for fear of other people’s opinions, but I won’t lie and say that I don’t do it. 

On some issues, the more important things anyway, I honestly couldn’t give a flying fuck whether or not someone agrees with me or thinks I am a bad person because of my point of view or beliefs. I am not afraid to stand up for something that I believe in and never will be. Something that I am particularly proud of. But it’s the simple, everyday things that I have trouble with. For example, one of the ‘sayings’ if you like, that I live by and always have done is “each to their own” this applies to all kinds of situations, sexual preference, same sex marriage, interracial relationships and many more. This means that even if I did have a negative opinion on any of these things (which for the record, I don’t, I completely support all of the above) I wouldn’t bother you with it because it’s your life and I have no right to interfere or judge you for your decisions and choices. But, I would rather not post any kind of social media update than one detailing something on my mind that people may find to be a pointless piece of information, or me moaning all of the time. I don’t know if anyone else does this. I didn’t really notice I did until quite recently. I was aware that I was doing it of course, but I didn’t really register it (if that makes sense). 

I’m making a promise to myself now that from now on I will just tweet whatever I feel like tweeting and update my facebook status with whatever I see fit (not that I often update my facebook status). I suppose nobody on here will be able to pick me up on this one if I don’t do it because none of you would know if what I tweeted or updated matched my thoughts or feelings anyway. A promise to myself then. Just to forget COMPLETELY about what other people think. 

At least I’ve gotten things the right way round though. I’d much rather not care what people thought of my beliefs and views than not to care whether or not they wanted to know about my latest mood swing or my boring daily updates. When it is important, I will stand my ground. I always have and I always will. And I believe that that is the way everyone should be. Nobody should stay quiet for fear of what other people will think or say about what they say or do. As long as you believe that you are right, you don’t ever need to convince anybody else. Ever. 

Leave a Reply

