The Naked Truth: Do you dare to go bare?

Published March 13, 2013 by goingalongwithit

Today I read an article which to me, sums up why young girls today feel the need to plaster themselves with makeup or aspire to go under the knife when they come of age. The article was about Nancy Dell’Olio and the headline read “‘I never take my make-up off… even when I sleep’: Nancy Dell’Olio reveals her unusual beauty tips”. I won’t even attempt to deny for one minute that Nancy is an astonishingly beautiful woman, but does her position in the public eye mean that she is somewhat responsible for making sure the things she says are appropriate for every possible audience? Or is it the newspaper or reporter at fault for printing a story at the risk of someone outside of the target audience finding it?

I also saw a segment on a daytime chat show this morning and one of their topics was whether or not they will leave the house without makeup on. At first I outright assumed that I would do this, but then when I really thought about it I realised that I would probably be more than reluctant to go out without my ‘mask’. I wouldn’t say that I wore a lot of makeup, sometimes barely any, but I think with me personally the effect of makeup is more psychological than physical. Knowing I’ve made the effort without going over the top allows me to feel more comfortable within myself. I know I’m not the only one who seems to notice that the times you do go out without any, or with little makeup on at all that you happen to bump into almost everyone you know, or at least it feels that way. I don’t insist that I have makeup on to go out of the house, but if I have the time then I’ll put it on, I don’t however, do it for the approval and appreciation of others. Like I said, the reason I wear makeup is to make myself feel good. But I know that if I had to, I could brave the world bare faced … In fact, I’m gonna make a promise to myself, and to you guys that I’ll try to do it more often, where appropriate.

But what do you guys think? Would you go bare? Or do you never wear makeup? Let me know!

Leave a Reply

